José Saenz, MD, PhD, awarded the 2022 Young Physician Scientist Award on behalf of the ASCI

José Saenz, MD, PhD

Dr. José Sáenz trained as a physician-scientist at the Washington University in St. Louis School of Medicine where he learned to frame basic science questions in a broader clinical context. While his initial research interests were varied, he ultimately became drawn to microbial pathogenesis and the ability of bacteria to manage and exploit interactions with […]

Naina Rengarajan, MD, PhD, receives Medical Dermatology Society Mentorship Award

Naina Rengarajan, MD, PhD

Congratulations to Dr. Naina Rengarajan, PGY-3, who was recently awarded a competitive Medical Dermatology Society Mentorship Program award. She will be working at the National Institute of Health with Dr. Heidi Kong, who is a world expert studying the human microbiome’s role in inflammatory skin diseases.

Shawn Demehri, MD, PhD, elected to the ASCI

Mass General Cancer Center physician-scientist Shawn Demehri, MD, PhD, has been elected to the American Society for Clinical Investigation (ASCI) as part of ASCI’s new class of members for 2022. Dr. Demehri is the Director for the High Risk Skin Cancer Clinic, he is a board-certified dermatologist and a principal investigator at the Center for Cancer Immunology, and Cutaneous Biology […]

NIH funding to School of Medicine hits all-time high

Researchers at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis were awarded $575.8 million in funding from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) in federal fiscal year 2021, according to the School of Medicine’s 2021 State of the School Report, an increase of nearly $88 million over FFY2020. This is an all-time high for the […]

Dr. Leo Shmuylovich awarded prestigious “high risk, high reward” grant

Leo Shmuylovich, MD, PhD

Dr. Schmuylovich is one of four scientists at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis to have been awarded prestigious grants from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) aimed at supporting the researchers’ innovative and impactful biomedical and behavioral research. The grants are among a total of 106 such grants awarded to scientists recognized […]

Dr. Jeff Henderson authors study showing blood cancer patients with COVID-19 fare better with convalescent plasma

Jeffrey Henderson, MD, PhD

Dr. Jeff Henderson authors a new study that shows that such plasma from recovered COVID-19 patients can dramatically increase the likelihood of survival for blood cancer patients hospitalized with COVID-19. A large, retrospective, multicenter study involving Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis indicates that convalescent plasma from recovered COVID-19 patients can dramatically improve […]

Dr. Max Petersen awarded Endocrine Fellows Foundation grant

Max Petersen, MD, PhD

Max Petersen, MD, PhD was awarded the Endocrine Fellows Foundation’s Fellow Research Grant. His research project, titled “Muscle bioactive lipids in metabolically healthy and unhealthy obesity,” has been awarded a $5,000 grant from the Endocrine Fellows Foundation. The grant is intended to cover research over a 1-year time span. For more information, please see this […]

PSTP Leadership Announcement

Timothy Ley, MD

We are excited to welcome Dr. Timothy Ley to the leadership team of the Oliver Langenberg Physician Scientist Training Program (PSTP) as a Co-director.  Dr. Ley is a distinguished and accomplished physician-scientist who is Professor of Medicine and Genetics and Director of the Section of Stem Cell Biology in the Division of Oncology.  He is […]

PSTP Trainees elected House Officers in AOA

Please join us in congratulating the recently-elected House Officers in the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society. The four trainees are:Ryan Day – Department of Medicine, Hematology-Oncology DivisionMichael Kramer – Department of Medicine, Hematology-Oncology DivisionChien-Jung Lin – Department of Medicine, Cardiovascular DivisionCan Sungur – Department of Medicine, Rheumatology Division For more information, please visit WUSM’s […]

Stuart Kornfeld to receive honorary degree from Washington University in St. Louis

Stuart Kornfeld, MD, PhD

Stuart Kornfeld, MD, PhD, has been selected to receive an honorary degree from Washington University in St. Louis during the University Commencement ceremonies later this month. As our Chancellor describes it, these awards are given to individuals who “have exemplified Washington’s University’s mission to improve lives in service of the greater good.” Dr. Kornfeld established […]

PSTP Annual Symposium

We are excited to announce this year’s PSTP Symposium, in collaboration with the Division of Physician-Scientists. The entire Washington University community is welcome to attend the symposium. A detailed agenda may be found here. Webinar Link:

Division of Physician-Scientists Info

We are working on some upcoming events that will include the Division of Physician-Scientists.  They invite physician-scientists at all levels of training to join their community. Members will receive first notifications of Division career development programming, along with access to a diverse group of peers and mentors across all departments at Washington University School of […]