Christine Yokoyama, MD, PhD received the Dermatology Foundation 2023 Dermatologist Investigator Research Fellow Award (Links to an external site)

Dr. Christine Yokoyama, Instructor in Medicine in the Division of Dermatology was announced as one the 2023 Dermatology Foundation Research Award Recipients. Dr. Yokoyama is Graduate of the Washington University Medical Scientist Training Program (MSTP) and currently a member of the Oliver Langenberg Physician Scientist Training Program, (PSTP).

David Russler-Germain, MD, PhD, Receives 2 Fellowship Awards (Links to an external site)

In his LRF research, Dr. Russler-Germain aims to study how mutations in a gene known as ZNF608 may contribute to the formation of lymphoma. “From our preliminary understanding of ZNF608, we hypothesize it plays a key role in protecting B cells from inappropriate activation of the machinery normally used by immune cells to alter their […]

Naina Rengarajan, MD, PhD, receives Medical Dermatology Society Mentorship Award

Naina Rengarajan, MD, PhD

Congratulations to Dr. Naina Rengarajan, PGY-3, who was recently awarded a competitive Medical Dermatology Society Mentorship Program award. She will be working at the National Institute of Health with Dr. Heidi Kong, who is a world expert studying the human microbiome’s role in inflammatory skin diseases.

NIH funding to School of Medicine hits all-time high

Researchers at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis were awarded $575.8 million in funding from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) in federal fiscal year 2021, according to the School of Medicine’s 2021 State of the School Report, an increase of nearly $88 million over FFY2020. This is an all-time high for the […]

Dr. Leo Shmuylovich awarded prestigious “high risk, high reward” grant

Leo Shmuylovich, MD, PhD

Dr. Schmuylovich is one of four scientists at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis to have been awarded prestigious grants from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) aimed at supporting the researchers’ innovative and impactful biomedical and behavioral research. The grants are among a total of 106 such grants awarded to scientists recognized […]

Dr. Max Petersen awarded Endocrine Fellows Foundation grant

Max Petersen, MD, PhD

Max Petersen, MD, PhD was awarded the Endocrine Fellows Foundation’s Fellow Research Grant. His research project, titled “Muscle bioactive lipids in metabolically healthy and unhealthy obesity,” has been awarded a $5,000 grant from the Endocrine Fellows Foundation. The grant is intended to cover research over a 1-year time span. For more information, please see this […]

PSTP Trainees elected House Officers in AOA

Please join us in congratulating the recently-elected House Officers in the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society. The four trainees are:Ryan Day – Department of Medicine, Hematology-Oncology DivisionMichael Kramer – Department of Medicine, Hematology-Oncology DivisionChien-Jung Lin – Department of Medicine, Cardiovascular DivisionCan Sungur – Department of Medicine, Rheumatology Division For more information, please visit WUSM’s […]