Timothy J. Ley, MD (left), Joseph L. Goldstein, MD, and Stuart Kornfeld, MD, attend the 2023 Physician-Scientist Symposium Oct. 17 in the Eric P. Newman Education Center. (Links to an external site)

Goldstein, a Nobel Prize winner, gave a lecture titled “How to Solve a Scientific Puzzle: Clues from Stockholm and Broadway.” Kornfeld started the Department of Medicine’s Physician-Scientist Training Program many years ago. (Photo: Jerry Naunheim Jr./Washington University)

José Saenz, MD, PhD, awarded the 2022 Young Physician Scientist Award on behalf of the ASCI

José Saenz, MD, PhD

Dr. José Sáenz trained as a physician-scientist at the Washington University in St. Louis School of Medicine where he learned to frame basic science questions in a broader clinical context. While his initial research interests were varied, he ultimately became drawn to microbial pathogenesis and the ability of bacteria to manage and exploit interactions with […]

Naina Rengarajan, MD, PhD, receives Medical Dermatology Society Mentorship Award

Naina Rengarajan, MD, PhD

Congratulations to Dr. Naina Rengarajan, PGY-3, who was recently awarded a competitive Medical Dermatology Society Mentorship Program award. She will be working at the National Institute of Health with Dr. Heidi Kong, who is a world expert studying the human microbiome’s role in inflammatory skin diseases.

Shawn Demehri, MD, PhD, elected to the ASCI

Mass General Cancer Center physician-scientist Shawn Demehri, MD, PhD, has been elected to the American Society for Clinical Investigation (ASCI) as part of ASCI’s new class of members for 2022. Dr. Demehri is the Director for the High Risk Skin Cancer Clinic, he is a board-certified dermatologist and a principal investigator at the Center for Cancer Immunology, and Cutaneous Biology […]

Dr. Leo Shmuylovich awarded prestigious “high risk, high reward” grant

Leo Shmuylovich, MD, PhD

Dr. Schmuylovich is one of four scientists at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis to have been awarded prestigious grants from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) aimed at supporting the researchers’ innovative and impactful biomedical and behavioral research. The grants are among a total of 106 such grants awarded to scientists recognized […]

Dr. Max Petersen awarded Endocrine Fellows Foundation grant

Max Petersen, MD, PhD

Max Petersen, MD, PhD was awarded the Endocrine Fellows Foundation’s Fellow Research Grant. His research project, titled “Muscle bioactive lipids in metabolically healthy and unhealthy obesity,” has been awarded a $5,000 grant from the Endocrine Fellows Foundation. The grant is intended to cover research over a 1-year time span. For more information, please see this […]

PSTP Leadership Announcement

Timothy Ley, MD

We are excited to welcome Dr. Timothy Ley to the leadership team of the Oliver Langenberg Physician Scientist Training Program (PSTP) as a Co-director.  Dr. Ley is a distinguished and accomplished physician-scientist who is Professor of Medicine and Genetics and Director of the Section of Stem Cell Biology in the Division of Oncology.  He is […]

PSTP Trainees elected House Officers in AOA

Please join us in congratulating the recently-elected House Officers in the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society. The four trainees are:Ryan Day – Department of Medicine, Hematology-Oncology DivisionMichael Kramer – Department of Medicine, Hematology-Oncology DivisionChien-Jung Lin – Department of Medicine, Cardiovascular DivisionCan Sungur – Department of Medicine, Rheumatology Division For more information, please visit WUSM’s […]

Stuart Kornfeld to receive honorary degree from Washington University in St. Louis

Stuart Kornfeld, MD, PhD

Stuart Kornfeld, MD, PhD, has been selected to receive an honorary degree from Washington University in St. Louis during the University Commencement ceremonies later this month. As our Chancellor describes it, these awards are given to individuals who “have exemplified Washington’s University’s mission to improve lives in service of the greater good.” Dr. Kornfeld established […]

Juan Calix, MD, PhD receives NIH K08 and joins the Dept of Medicine

Juan was awarded a NIH K08 Mentored Clinical Scientist Research Career Development Award for project titled, “Defining microbial and host determinants of Acinetobacter survival in the urinary tract”. Juan was also promoted to Instructor in Infectious Diseases