The Oliver Langenberg Physician Scientist Training Program in the Department of Medicine trains physicians for careers in academic medicine.

Our Commitment

  • To develop a personalized program of combined clinical and research training that addresses each trainee’s requirements
  • To link trainees with postgraduate research mentors during residency to ease the transition from clinical to laboratory research training. The program’s affiliation with the Division of Biology and Biomedical Sciences at Washington University provides depth and breadth of potential research interests
  • To facilitate career progression from trainee to independent investigator


Supplement application and recruitment info


Providing outstanding support and exceptional training


Tools to become independent investigators

News and Events:

Dr. Jeff Henderson authors study showing blood cancer patients with COVID-19 fare better with convalescent plasma

Dr. Jeff Henderson authors a new study that shows that such plasma from recovered COVID-19 patients can dramatically increase the likelihood of survival for blood cancer patients hospitalized with COVID-19. A large, retrospective, multicenter study involving Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis indicates that convalescent plasma from recovered COVID-19 patients can dramatically improve […]

Dr. Max Petersen awarded Endocrine Fellows Foundation grant

Max Petersen, MD, PhD was awarded the Endocrine Fellows Foundation’s Fellow Research Grant. His research project, titled “Muscle bioactive lipids in metabolically healthy and unhealthy obesity,” has been awarded a $5,000 grant from the Endocrine Fellows Foundation. The grant is intended to cover research over a 1-year time span. For more information, please see this […]

PSTP Leadership Announcement

We are excited to welcome Dr. Timothy Ley to the leadership team of the Oliver Langenberg Physician Scientist Training Program (PSTP) as a Co-director.  Dr. Ley is a distinguished and accomplished physician-scientist who is Professor of Medicine and Genetics and Director of the Section of Stem Cell Biology in the Division of Oncology.  He is […]

PSTP Trainees elected House Officers in AOA

Please join us in congratulating the recently-elected House Officers in the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society. The four trainees are:Ryan Day – Department of Medicine, Hematology-Oncology DivisionMichael Kramer – Department of Medicine, Hematology-Oncology DivisionChien-Jung Lin – Department of Medicine, Cardiovascular DivisionCan Sungur – Department of Medicine, Rheumatology Division For more information, please visit WUSM’s […]

Stuart Kornfeld to receive honorary degree from Washington University in St. Louis

Stuart Kornfeld, MD, PhD, has been selected to receive an honorary degree from Washington University in St. Louis during the University Commencement ceremonies later this month. As our Chancellor describes it, these awards are given to individuals who “have exemplified Washington’s University’s mission to improve lives in service of the greater good.” Dr. Kornfeld established […]

There are not currently any upcoming events scheduled. Please check back for new events to be added.

In the meantime, if you’d like to explore campus events, please visit Happenings at WashU.